It’s not about getting more done – it’s about…

Getting the Right Things Done

I’ve recommended this productivity guide to several colleagues, and they’ve been as pleased with it as I am. If you consistently follow only 1 piece of advice from this book, odds are that you will become more productive than you are now. (And I would be, too, if I hadn’t lent my copy out!)

About Silvia Bunge

I'm a tenured faculty member, and the head graduate advisor in my department.
This entry was posted in Productivity. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s not about getting more done – it’s about…

  1. anonymous says:

    I considered myself a fairly efficient and productive person before this book, but I’m always interested in maximizing my potential. So based off this recommendation, I opted to order it off Amazon to check it out. It’s a small book so I was able to devour it on a cross-country flight. It’s well-written, accessible, and even a bit humorous at times (my first HBR book!)

    I was pleased to know that many of my current habits were highlighted in the book, but there were several recommendations that I decided to experiment with to see if they worked for me. For example, the notion of doing your most important work first thing in the morning (as opposed to after dinner when your belly is full with one too many bowls of pasta). This has been an incredible strategy for me. Let me be clear, I don’t consider myself to be a “morning person” but it’s true that our brains operate at a different level at 7am versus 10pm! Try it out! Another interesting strategy I tested out was this idea of not only creating your “to-do” list based on task categories and due dates, but to indicate how much effort each task would require (e.g., high, medium, low). This takes the thinking out of the process so when I had an extra 15 minutes here or there instead of perusing [enter favorite time-sucking website here], I knew I could look at my “low” list and knock a thing or two off. Lastly, the chapter on “Say yes to saying no” might need to be framed in my office as a constant reminder – I love the idea of creating “no” email templates!

    I see this book as being an invaluable resource for anyone – from graduate students to upper level management. Though, I have to admit, I’m still skeptical about this idea that “great performers sleep more”, I know the research but I’m not completely convinced yet!

Leave a Reply

